Constructed in 1920, taking three years and $2.5 million to build, The Durant served as Flint’s most prestigious hotel from 1920–1973 while the city thrived as an automotive boomtown throughout the early 20th century. The eight-story building was named in honor of William C. Durant, the founder of General Motors. The hotel closed in 1973 and sat vacant until the Genesee County Landbank acquired the building in 2005.
BlackBerry replicated (440) openings and restored (11) gallery openings. For replication, the Traco 9700 Historic Single Hung Window was selected. This required installation of necessary wood blocking, caulking exterior interfaces between windows and masonry, installation of insulation and interior aluminum snap trims and then all windows adjusted for proper operation.
All replicated wood windows have insulated glass with SolarBan® 60 with argon, custom interior aluminum trims and standard Duranar paint finish. Restoration of the Gallery wood windows consisted of all frame and sash components, including true divided lite muntins, deglazing and stripping of all sashes, patching and sanding, re-glazing, priming and two-coat finish. Glass was replaced with new ¼” annealed glass and new glazing compound, new parting bead and new interior sash stop provided as needed.
All hardware was restored or replaced as needed and all sashes fitted with wool pile weatherstripping to increase energy efficiency. Restoration of the Gallery windows took place in the field as well as BlackBerry’s shop.
After decades of vacancy, The Durant has been brought back to life and provides an anchor for the downtown revitalization. This iconic building offers (93) residential units and 18,000 square feet of office/retail space.